A Video Crash Course in Steampunk

Last week I had the distinct pleasure of giving you all a sneak peek into the alternate universe of the Curse Breaker Series. Now allow me pleasure of sharing some videos that’ll help you understand the subculture that is Steampunk. I won’t promise you’ll learn everything there is to know about Steampunk, but for someone on the outside looking in, it’ll give much needed insight. These videos all belong to their respective owners on youtube.com, so act accordingly. Besides, I’ve just saved you the trouble of finding all these videos yourself. You’re Welcome! 😉

 

Keep in mind these videos are in no particular order. I post them as I think of them.

1. You can’t have Steampunk without at least one mad scientist and Jake Von Slatt is such a man. In the steampunk world he’s known a modder. He modifies objects and makes them steampunk/better. One of his most famous objects is the steampunk keyboard. That single object is one of the most famous and symbolic items of steampunk. But don’t take my word for it. See for yourself.

 

2. Steampunk events are quite something to behold. It’s a funny and satisfying thing when you’re around so many other people who share the same passion for something you love as much as you do, if not more! This video from AnachroCon shows, in a very fun way I might add, what a typical Steampunk Convention is like.

 

3. Most people who know about Steampunk know about Abney Park. Considered by many to be the ‘face of Steampunk’ their music continues to bring so many people into this world. Below I’ve posted one of their music videos. Steampunk Revolution. Enjoy!

 

4. Still lost? Or perhaps you’re an avid reader of Steampunk such as myself. While I still prefer reading the classics such as Mary Shelley, Jules Verne and H.G. Wells, I still must admit, I am blown away by the modern day steampunk books I’ve been reading today. One book in particular was the Etched City by K.J.  Bishop. It was recommended to by Victoria aka yankee999. She hosts a Youtube Channel called Steampunk Reviews. She reviews all that has to do with steampunk and in her own words: “When I mean all, I bloodly well mean all. Big and small. G-rated to R.” Here is her review of the Etched City. And subscribe to her page for more of her reviews.

 

5. For those of you who grew up watching Sesame Street like me, PBS has been a huge part of your life growing up. So when I saw a video about PBS’s take on Steampunk I knew I had to add it. Enjoy.

 

6.  Last but certainly not least I leave you with this. Aurora. While it is NOT the only steampunk short film you can find on youtube it is certainly one of my favorites. I had seen many Steampunk films on youtube and across the web, some good and other brilliant, this film was a labor of love. You can tell by the story, the actors, the costumes and everything else you can think of, that these people spent a lot of time preparing and planning this film. The story is about an airship captain who’s wife is kidnapped by slave traders and he goes on a mission to get her back. There’s action, adventure and airships! The 3 ‘A’s’! My only complaint about this 33 minute film is that it’s too short! But oh well. Enjoy, and I will see you next week.

About berleykerr

A Steampunk Author from Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in Steampunk Corner and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

