Berley’s Top Ten Favorite Lines… from Fiction.

A great story line can be a great opening line or a great ending line or just a saying that is repeated over and over again that eventually becomes synonymous with not just a character, but an entire story as well. Don’t believe me?

“With great power comes great responsibility.”

“May the force be with you.”

“Live long and prosper.”

“You shall not pass!”

The average person, regardless of whatever country they live in, can pretty much tell you where all four of the above quotes came from. And if you don’t know where they came from, Google it. If you can read this then chances are you can Google the quotes. Moving on, I thought I’d share with you my favorite fictional quotes, or rather, quotes from from works of fiction. While most tend to quote celebrities, politicians and historical figures, writers like yours truly, express ourselves through fiction, whether we like it or not. So this week I’d like to share with you: Berley’s Top Ten Favorite Lines… from Fiction.

I tried to write this blog a few times but I could never seem to finish due to the fact that too many of my favorite lines came from too many different sources. So I thought, what the hell, why not simply use every source I like, just as long as it’s a work of fiction. Keep in mind, these are in no particular order seeing as how I tend to refer to all of them constantly.

1. “When love cast me out, it was cruelty who took pity upon me.” Jacqueline Carey, Kushiel’s Dart.

2. “He had a baseball bat and I was tied to a chair. Pissing him off was the smart thing to do.” Rock Star Games, May Payne.

3. “The door dilated.” Robert Heinlein, Beyond this Horizon.

4. “That’s funny. I’ll remember that the next time I’m climbing off your mum.” Turk (Jason Statham) in the film, Snatch.

5. “All is one and one is all.” Izumi Curtis aka Teacher, Full Metal Alchemist.

6. “Your bf’s about to get eff’d in the B!” Bryan Lee O’Malley, Scott Pilgrim vs the World.

7. “Because people are stupid, they will believe a lie because they want to believe it’s true, or because they are afraid it might be true.” Terry Goodkind, Wizard’s First Rule.

8. “My parents were normal. So they did what normal parents do. They made it worse.” John Constantine (Keanu Reeves) in the 2005 film Constantine based on the Vertigo comic book HellBlazer.

9. “I don’t know half of you, half as well as I would like. And I like less than half of you, half as well as you deserve.” J.R.R. Tolkien, The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring.

10. “It is a capital mistake to theorize before one has data. Insensibly one begins to twist facts to suit theories, instead of theories to suit facts.” Sir Author Conan Doyle’s, A Scandal in Bohemia. Or the 2009 Sherlock Holmes movie.

How of many of these lines made you laugh. How many made you think. How many hidden meanings and not-so-hidden meanings were you able to find in these simple words. A great line, whether it be in exposition or in dialogue can help a reader understand and better yet, appreciate the characters as well as the stories they find themselves in. Max Payne’s line, which is my current favorite (I told you this list is in no particular order, other than the order I remembered these lines in) not only tells you the kind of situation he’s in, but the very unfortunate situation he’s going to be in very soon. But what makes it such a wonderful line is that’s funny and it suits his character.

What are some of your favorite lines  from fiction? Please share by posting in the comments below. Take Care, I’ll see you next week and thanks for reading.

About berleykerr

A Steampunk Author from Los Angeles.
This entry was posted in My Writing Process and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Berley’s Top Ten Favorite Lines… from Fiction.

  1. Libby says:

    Berley, interesting how many of your choices involve a dichotomy, an unexpected twist. Something that seems impossible or contradictory on the face of it, but it works.

    Here are two of my favorites:

    Out of the night that covers me,
    Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
    I thank whatever gods may be
    For my unconquerable soul… (From Invictus by William Ernest Henley. Actually a very good steampunk poem)

    “It’s freezing–an extraordinary 0 degrees Fahrenheit–and it’s snowing, and in the language that is no longer mine, the snow is quanik–big, almost weightless crystals falling in clumps and covering the ground with a layer of pulverized white frost.” (Smilla’s Sense of Snow, Peter Hoeg)

  2. Leeanna Minicozzi says:

    Valuable information. Fortunate me I found your site by accident, and I am stunned why this accident didn’t took place in advance! I bookmarked it.

Leave a Reply

